improvised CRIME, beware!

What is the worst that can happen? I asked myself this question. I drive a saloon car which is fully air-conditioned unlike other cab drivers.
Turning my car into a cab wasn’t really the problem, after all with a 4 year old daughter I should be able to be the best dad in the world and provide for baby milk. My wife on the other hand warned me to take things easy after i told her I was going to turn the car into a cab.
Why did I not listen to her, well the situation of the country speaks to everyone, not just me alone. Anyway lets continue, I got signed up on Uber, began my routines. I was still working in Lagos State government anyway but ofcousre you know why I was going into cab driving by now, yea i didn’t have to wait for government.
It is impossible to keep one stream of income when the stream flows seldomly. I have not been paid for the past 5 months and how my family and I have survived is still a miracle which i named my wife.
Notwithstanding, I never thought everything was still fine and without hesitation I was running my cab business after work every evening.

I had started for about a week and coming home late was certain because most clients needed me at nights, mostly the bankers. My wife began to warn me of late nights,
she was so bothered about it that she told me about a dream she had. Ofcourse i ignored her dream, made her see reasons why i should continue my cab business.
Everything was going fine until one night I learnt a lesson which I had to share for everyone driving during these seasons. I let my guard down and wasn’t quick to decipher what was about to hit me. It happened by 11:45pm, Friday night on third mainland bridge, the longest bridge in West Africa by the way. I had just dropped off a client on the Island all the way from Ikeja, I was just about to leave the island when a lady flagged my cab down and said she was going to Yaba. I hardly pick people up on the streets but that day it was different, I did anyway and with no particular reason to back me up. This lady was jovial and I believe she was a student of Unilag because of the call she picked up on our way to Yaba.

Just before the turn off the bridge to Yaba, something strange happened. I was hit by a car behind me and the lady told me to ignore it since it was not a serious hit.
I wish I listened, I kept driving when the same guys hit me with their car again and this time i was not going to hear “ignore them” anymore. I was so furious I got out of my car, walked towards my bumper to see the damage done. Thankfully it was not so bad like the lady said earlier but I needed to show some ego I guess. Well this was the strange part, there were two guys in the car and the guy beside the driver began to make fun of the driver who is obviously is friend by the way. He told me to collect some money from his friend for the damage, saying he told him he wanted to handle the wheels but his friend refused and now he has hit someone. I began to seriously caution him to be careful next time while the guy beside the driver stepped out of the car pretending to be concerned about my car and approached, which i was ignorant about, immediately i was slapped so hard that i became unconscious for a brief moment.  I woke up hearing the lady crying, the guys had driven off and left me penniless, raped the girl and took all her valuables likewise.

I was robbed by some young guys who planned so well and hit their target who they believed was an ignorant or new cab driver. This is the reason i am sending this message across to everyone who drives at late nights.
Please do not be ignorant, always drive off and leave these people when you are hit next time. I have heard cases of robbery but never like this was i told. It is the times we are in when people commit crimes with new methods.
Whenever you are hit at night please do not stop to check the level of damage to your car, please speed off i say! i repeat again, speed off i say! Never again will this happen to me and anyone who has read this.
I wish I listened to the lady i was taking to Yaba, I wish I listened to my inner man, I wish I had read this type of message from a victim before that night.
Many times I hear people say experience is the best teacher but actually the truth is the best teacher. No one has to go through such a mess before learning a lesson or two.

I hope this has helped someone to be more vigilant and wise when faced with situations that criminals simulate before leaving their houses every night. This is not the work of the under-world, It is the work of a well calculated plan for robbery at night these days. Well it is only an advice and i am grateful i am alive to tell you. It was not not so bad for me but quite sad for the lady in my car.
Stay safe, be security conscious!

 

2 thoughts on “improvised CRIME, beware!

Leave a Reply

